Autism Specialist Apprenticeship Program Expanded to More Schools

  • Successful Specialized Learning Program for Students with Autism Spectrum Disorders to be Implemented in Eight More Schools
  • Specialist teachers to provide individual student education and support plans
  • Investment of $18.2 million to support and fund expansion
  • Pupils with Autism Spectrum Disorders will benefit from the expansion of Western Australia’s successful Specialized Learning Program (SLP) to eight additional locations, starting with the roll-out to Hampton Park Primary School and the Hampton High School in the second semester of next year.

    The program provides specialized and intensive support to students with autism – without intellectual disabilities – who have the ability to learn at or near their grade level with support, but who may have specific social and emotional development needs related to their autism.

    Supports include:

    • specially trained teachers and individualized planning targeting academic success;
    • Organisational skills;
    • social abilities;
    • positive peer relationships; and
    • self-regulation.

    Other schools set to offer the program include:

    • Wattleup East Primary School;
    • Hammond Park Secondary College;
    • Westfield Park Primary School;
    • Kelmscott High School;
    • Dayton Elementary School; and
    • Kiara College.

    SLP is already in place in 16 schools across Western Australia, with this latest expansion set to bring the total number of schools offering it to 24.

    As Education and Training Minister Sue Ellery said:

    “We want every student to come to school to learn and have positive experiences so they can perform at their best.

    “This specialized learning program ensures that eligible students with Autism Spectrum Disorders receive the intensive support they need for their academic, social and personal development.

    “This program has already achieved great results for WA students with additional learning needs by providing the resources to give them the best possible educational experience.

    “Expanding the program to eight more schools will allow more students with autism spectrum disorders to benefit from this personalized support and continue their academic, social and personal development from primary to secondary.

    “Students have a range of diverse needs, and this program is part of a broader holistic approach to disability education in Western Australia.”

    As MP Morley Amber-Jade Sanderson said:

    “It is important that schools meet the individual needs of pupils, and it is fantastic that the specialist learning program will be available for pupils in our region through primary and secondary from next year.

    “Hampton Park Primary School and Hampton Senior High School are already excellent local schools, and the introduction of this successful program – which is being rolled out by the McGowan Labor Government – ​​will mean that eligible pupils with autism spectrum disorders and their families will have access to additional programs. resources to help them succeed.

    As Bassendean MP Dave Kelly said:

    “This is a fantastic program that has already shown it can improve educational outcomes, and a welcome investment in the young people in our community and their educational outcomes.

    “Its expansion to Hampton Senior High School and Kiara College will allow eligible students attending the local elementary school to transition to high school with continued support.

    “I encourage parents who wish to enroll their child in a specialized learning program to contact the school directly.”

    Timeline for expansion of specialized apprenticeship programs

    Mid 2023 2024 2025

    Hampton Park CP

    Hampton SHS

    Wattleup East PS

    Hammond Park SC

    Westfield PS Park

    Kelmscott SHS

    PS of Dayton

    Kiara College

    /Public release. This material from the original organization/authors may be ad hoc in nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author or authors. See in full here.

    Comments are closed.