Five teachers receive inaugural WSU President’s Teaching Academy awards | WSU Insider



The Washington State University President’s Teaching Academy has named five faculty members from five colleges as the first recipients of two prestigious awards.

Three received the Outstanding Publication Award as part of the Higher Education Teaching Fellowship Award and two received the Teaching Conference Registration Award.

“These awards recognize and celebrate the great accomplishments of WSU instructors and also support their professional development,†said Joy Egbert, president of the academy. “The positive impact they have on the education of WSU students is felt every day, and the quality of their efforts helps to elevate and strengthen the academic stature of our institution. “

Publications laureates

The Outstanding Publication under the Scholarship of Teaching in Higher Education Award is available to those who have published on the topic in a peer-reviewed article within the past two years. Those who receive the first prizes in this category are:

Elizabeth Canning ($ 500), Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychology at the College of Arts and Sciences, first author of the article “Feeling Like an Imoster: The Effect of Perceived Classroom Competition on the Daily Psychological Experiences of First-Generation College Students “. “It was published in Social psychology and personality sciences, 11 (5), 647-657.

Anne Marie Guerrettaz ($ 250), Assistant Professor in the Department of Teaching and Learning at the College of Education, first author of the article “We acted like ELLs”: a pedagogy of the incarnation in initial training. It was published in Research in language teaching, June 7, 2020, 1-25.

Stephen Hines ($ 250), professor in the Department of Veterinary Microbiology and Pathology at the College of Veterinary Medicine, first author of the article “An Interagency External Peer Review Process to Evaluate Educators in Veterinary Schoolsâ€. It was published in the Journal of Veterinary Medical Education, 47 (5), 535-545.

Laureates of the conference

The teaching conference registration fee is designed to help cover the cost of attending a conference, meeting or workshop that will directly improve classroom instruction and / or the teaching scholarship. The first prize recipients in this category are:

Dipra Jha ($ 500), Associate Professor in the School of Hospitality Business Management at Carson College of Business, to attend a Harvard Business Publishing virtual event in March on the key elements of successful teaching in online courses and hybrids.

Alana Pulay ($ 250), assistant professor in the School of Design and Construction at Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture, to attend the Council of Interior Design Educators (IDEC) annual virtual conference in March.

The role of the Academy

The WSU President’s Teaching Academy is the institution’s premier organization dedicated to teaching excellence. It is open to a number of professors with academic responsibility to the university who have a track record of sustained excellence in teaching and are recognized for their scholarship in teaching and learning. The most recent members were installed in May 2020, bringing the total membership to 60.

Egbert said the two prizes will be awarded annually, with a call for nominations slated for next spring.



Leave A Reply